top of page

Sign Up For Updates

WHAT IS THE MEANING OF SELF WORTH?


"Broad City" © Comedy Central

Self worth. The word is it’s own sentence and a powerful one it is. People are so infatuated with self worth and always wondering what everyone else’s self worth is. For example: I lived in LA for six years and whenever you would meet anyone knew, there would always be the same start up conversation you would have with them :

“What do you do? Who do you know? Where do you live?”

It’s as if your job defined who you were, what depicted your happiness, if you had money, if you’re a successful and established somebody in the land of nobodies. Who you surrounded yourself with made an impression on these nobodies, as if the people who were in your circle of friends should all be celebrities and these nobodies were looking for a way in to becoming a somebody. (And if you didn’t have any celeb friends or know anyone, they would stop talking to you immediately). Defining where you lived was important (to them) because it showcased two things: are you rich or are you poor? And whenever I was asked these three questions, I would always hate the reactions that I would receive from these nobodies. Why? Because I didn’t give a shit what these nobodies thought, it was the fact that these questions were always the first three things out of anyones mouths when you first meet them in Los Angeles.

And boy, was I fucking tired of it.

That’s when I decided to stop worrying about them and started checking in with myself. Does money in the bank define if I am happy or not? Seeing a $5 in my Wells Fargo Online app as opposed to a $150, is that supposed to change the way I see my self worth, my happiness? I mean sure, I could definitely use that $150 on groceries or buying food for my dog, but a bunch of numbers that are in a nominal order, is that supposed to automatically make me happy? No. So why does it matter to a nobody if you have $5 or if you have $150? It doesn’t. Money shouldn’t depict what makes me happy. I should be happy that I even have a phone to look at. Period.

What I do for a living doesn’t define the type of person I am either. I could be a Lawyer and still, that job title wouldn’t define me because a job title doesn’t define a human being. I could be a trash woman, does that mean that I am a trash woman all the time? Does that mean that I am trash all the time? No. It just means that I chose a job that I needed to make a living. My job doesn’t define my self worth. My self worth is defined by what is inside of me. Which is : integrity, strength, wits, happiness, determination, guts, tenacity and whole bunch of other words that make me strong.

So why does this all matter? Why does self worth matter to these nobodies when we aren’t even talking about their self worth but just our own? Because they would rather come to terms with our own self worth than their own. And I have one thing to say about that:

fuck that.

Be you. Be the strong you that you know you can be that you have been. You know what you are made of and there isn’t anyone out there in the world to tell you that you can’t be happy for what makes you happy. Money doesn’t define happiness. A job doesn’t define who you are. And where you live doesn’t show what you are.

What matters is what you are made up of on the inside.

Are you happy?

No, you’re not? … Well lets fix that!

Let’s change the perception of what makes you happy and turn it into a lifestyle of what will make you happy. Always.


Latest Posts

bottom of page